My Favorite Songs of 2008

My favorite songs are even more ephemeral than what albums I am listening to, so I decided to choose the 10 songs that held the most significance for me this past year.

1. Hot Chip “Ready for the Floor” – No song got me ready to party more than this one in 2008, so just “do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it now!”

2. MGMT “Kids” – I probably ran about 25-30 miles to this song alone during the past year.

3. Hercules and Love Affair “Blind” – My favorite dance song of the year.  I really wish that Mark and I had gone to their concert when we were in Berlin at the same time as them.

4. The Helio Sequence “Hallelujah” – Perfect pace for pounding out the miles on a long run.

5. Cut Copy “Far Away” – I have a good memory of dancing to this one on the bouncy floor at Neumo’s.

6. Bon Iver “Skinny Love” – A nice and pleasant song to listen to.

7. Ratatat “Mi Viejo” – The most memorable song I saw live all year; I love the drums!

8. Fleet Foxes “Blue Ridge Mountains” – My favorite song of my favorite album, plus I did run a lot to this song.

9. Sun Kil Moon “Tonight in Bilbao” – This whole album is great to listen to while walking around Seattle on brisk fall mornings, but this particular song also reminds me of traveling around Europe last summer so it gets the nod.

10. Gang Gang Dance “House Jam” – Totally a product of the moment, but I can’t get enough of this baby right now!

Leave a Reply

